Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Service Area recognizes student achievement

Outstanding academics, leadership honored in 2023 commencement ceremonies

KOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo honored students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and leadership during its commencement ceremonies May 12.

Jared Boone

Jared Boone of Wabash, who earned an Associate of Applied Science degree in Advanced Automation and Robotics Technology (AART), was honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Academic Excellence.

Boone was selected from those students honored with the Dean’s Award in each program who have a 3.5 GPA or higher. Other considerations for this award include leadership, community service, and school involvement.

In nominating Boone for the top student academic honor, Deborah Ku, department chair of the AART program for the Ivy Tech Kokomo Service area, cited his accomplishments in and out of the classroom.

“In his two years at Ivy Tech, Jared earned several certificates and technical certificates on his way to his associate degree,” Ku said. “And his academic achievements were matched with extracurricular activities that have helped him grow in many ways.”

While at Ivy Tech, Boone served as president of the Alpha Phi Pi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa international honor society and was named to the National Society for Leadership and Success. As president of the Student Government Association, he represented Kokomo students as a student member of the Ivy Tech State Board of Trustees, bringing a focus on manufacturing. He also is an emergency medical responder, a certified firefighter and lieutenant in a volunteer fire department.

After an internship through Ivy Tech Kokomo’s Ivy+ Career Link office, Boone has been hired fulltime at Mid-State Engineering in Tipton. He has already been promoted to the position of controls engineer, a job that he says would not have been possible without the help he received from faculty and staff. Boone is configuring hardware parameters in robotic systems to effectively manage manufacturing processes in a way that is safe and efficient, a role one faculty member said is usually handled by bachelor-degreed engineers.

The Dean’s Award honors students who are selected by the faculty chair for each program as the program’s outstanding graduate. Recipients of the Dean’s Award for 2023, and hometowns, are:


Jordann Wilson, Kokomo

Advanced Automation & Robotics Technology

Jared Boone, Wabash


Gabriela Vega, Logansport

Business Administration

Vikie Sorrell, Idaville

Business Operations, Applications, and Technology

April Savoie, Logansport

Criminal Justice

Bryce Ralston, Marion

Dental Assisting

Diane Carty, Eaton

Early Childhood Education

Gabrielle Wagoner, Wabash

Elementary Education

Brittany D. Metz, Haslet (Texas)

General Studies

Adeela Hopkins, Peru

Healthcare Specialist

Tishadequea Ogle, Logansport

Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Technology

Bobby Taylor, Sheridan

Human Services

Eleanor Rush, Kokomo

Information Technology Support

Andrew Ramos, Peru

Liberal Arts

Emily Gellinger, Logansport

Manufacturing, Production & Operations

Ashley McGowan, Kokomo

Medical Assisting

Kassie Pruitt, North Judson


Colleen Stone, Kirklin

Practical Nursing

Xitlalitz Garcia, Huntington

Professional Communication

Carmen Albertson, Columbia City


Gabriella Lengel-Hernandez, Logansport, Honors College

Secondary Education

Tiffani Husband, Kokomo

Software Development

Colten Pitner, Bunker Hill

Surgical Technology

Meranda Cruz, Gas City

Visual Communication

Stephen Warren, Twelve Mile

Those recognized with Military Veterans Honors include David Boucher of Logansport, Ashley Bridgewater of Kokomo, Trent Bridgman of Flora, Luke Buckler of Fairmount, Amanda Collins of Sweetzer, Joel Contreras of Kokomo, Isaac Evans of Markleville, Reagan Franklin of Gas City, Christopher Fultz of Sims, Taylor Gatliff of Peru, Stacie Goodloe of Westfield, Levi Gross of Russiaville, Emma Hintz of Peru, Rick Howe of Logansport, Robert Kieninger of Peru, Macey Lam of Kokomo, Hunter Miller of Indianapolis, Ron Nearon of Kokomo, Tiana Phillips of Kokomo, Nester Riddle of Jamaica (New York), Devin Rubush of Muncie, Zachary Sasser of Walton, Wesley Scott of Somerset, Shelley Shook of Kokomo, Erin Shupperd of Windfall, Vikie Sorrell of Idaville, Lyndsey Stewart of Walton, Jesse Swain of Kokomo, Pam Tina of Tipton, Kyle White of Denver, and Ayanna Wiggins of Gary.

Students honored as graduates of the Ivy Tech Community College Student Leadership Academy include Lyndsey Stewart of Walton and Nghi Vo of Kokomo.

Three students – Marissa Hineman of Kokomo and Gabrielle Lengel-Hernandez and Fernanday Louis, both of Logansport – were recognized as the first Ivy Tech Kokomo graduates of the Ivy Tech Community College Honors College.

Tishadequea Ogle of Logansport was honored as a member of the All-Indiana Academic Team for academic performance, leadership, and service to the College and the community. 

Students named to the National Society of Leadership and Success include Yelim Alvarado of Peru, Kaylee Binnion of Converse, Jared Boone of Wabash, Samantha Brassard of Kokomo, Jessica Canales of Indianapolis, Erika Creighton of Galveston, Daphne Dawson of Bunker Hill, Keegan Duncan of Sharpsville, Nikita Dunn of Wabash, Shanna Earnheart of Kokomo, David Eccles of Lafayette, Karsyn Fording of Kokomo, Levi Gross of Russiaville, Anna Guyer of Kokomo, Jennifer Hayes of Kokomo, Glaciea Hester of Kokomo, Michael Hewitt of Elwood, Rick Howe of Logansport, Cameron Johnson of Russiaville, Kate Kingery of Flora, Brittany Lappin of Russiaville, Jessica Laws of Kokomo, Fernanday Louis of Logansport, Kristin Maldonado of Bunker Hill, Alexys Martin of Kokomo, Sarah Miller of Russiaville, Robert Morecraft of Peru, Corinth Oglesby of Kokomo, Andrew Ramos of Peru, Nester Riddle of Jamaica (New York), Teresa Shilling of Denver, Shelby Simons of Brownsburg, Lyndsey Stewart of Walton, and Nghi Vo of Kokomo.


About Ivy Tech Kokomo Service Area

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Service Area serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, Pulaski and Tipton counties, including the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, Rochester, Tipton and Winamac. Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering associate degree and short-term certificate programs, and trainings that align to the needs of the community. The College also offers courses and associate degree programs that seamlessly transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor’s degree. For more information, visit www.ivytech.edu.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s