Ivy Tech Kokomo inducts 76 students into new leadership organization

National Society of Leadership and Success chapter comes to Kokomo

2019-04 NSLS Kokomo chapter officers

These students were honored for their service as the first officers of the Ivy Tech Kokomo chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success: (left-right) Zachary Hutcheson, Harold (Lee) Stout II, Jessica Hamilton, Laurie Dowell, Jossie Helmerick, David Akers, and Corynne Menard.

KOKOMO, Ind. — Seventy-six students at Ivy Tech Community College have been inducted as the first members of a new chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) for the College’s Kokomo Service Area.

Ivy Tech Kokomo became the fourth campus in Ivy Tech’s statewide system to bring the NSLS opportunity to its students, joining Ivy Tech campuses at Columbus, Indianapolis, and South Bend. NSLS, founded in 2001, has become the largest leadership-based honor society in the United States and operates on the mission of “Building leaders who make a better world.”

To be inducted as a member of NSLS, students must complete a leadership certification that includes an orientation, a Leadership Training Day, at least three speaker broadcasts, and at least three Success Networking Team (SNT) meetings.

NSLS also offers two additional certifications. Ivy Tech Kokomo students Laurie Dowell and Kori Wood both completed the Advanced Leadership Certification and Dowell went on to complete the Executive Leadership Certification.

Students who served as chapter leaders for 2018-2019 included Jessica Hamilton, president; Laurie Dowell, vice president; Corynne Menard, secretary; Lee Stout, snt coordinator; and David Akers and Zachary Hutcheson, chairs. Officers elected for the 2019-2020 school year include Corynne Menard, president; Zachary Hutcheson, vice president; Jossie Helmerick, secretary; Lee Stout.

“With more than 600 chapters and more than 950,000 members nationwide, NSLS offers great training and networking opportunities,” said Dani McQuaide, director of Student Life for Ivy Tech Kokomo and the new chapter’s advisor. “NSLS members have access to personal success coaching, partner discounts, an online job bank, and a number of scholarships and awards. We are glad to provide another way students can gain great experience and boost their resumes.

Students inducted as the first members of Ivy Tech Kokomo’s NSLS chapter include:

Tabitha Schoenstein
Mandi Altman
Bunker Hill
Sydne Leary
Victoria Ellis
Nova Brygger
Kristy Walsh
Charles Koeppen
Laurie Dowell
David Akers
Andre Askew
Aubry Bailey
Sensuous Balfour Alexander
Kayla Bullock
Elizabeth Collins
Tiffany DeWitt
Kasandra Dorsey
Cierra Fisher
Erica Gray
Jessica Hamilton
Noah Hamrick
Lora Hawkins
Zachary Hutcheson
Drew Jameson
Candace Jarvis
Shayla Killebrew
Corynne Menard
Jshanien Minor
Nathan Napier
Sarah Napier
Jessica Nester
David Reynolds
Shaun Sefton
Tyler Shirey
Monica Slonaker
Harold Stout II
Ashley Swing
Brianna Swing
Dale Swingley
Antonio Viera
Desmon Williams
Mercedes Wilson
Kori Wood
Carrie Adams
David Eccles
Tiffany Tyler
Rochelle Davila
Andrea DeJesus
Tamara Derrick
Adam Goodman
Brady Hammond
Paul Hoff
Jennifer Lindsey
Silvia McVay
Hairo Ortega
Jamie Pay
Sofia Nicole Pedersen Kertesz
Linda Sebastian
Lisa Tidrick
Mercedes Conrad
Faith Rankin
North Judson
Jonathan Kozak
Karalee Haynes
Jeremiah Kline
Tricia Lease
Tyler Worl
Dinah Wray
Derek Larimore
Shelby Larimore
Sherry Welch
Nick Barnard
Noelle Heaton
Cole Henderson
Jared Hickman
Jason Darland
Nathaniel Pownell
Jossie Helmerick

About Ivy Tech Kokomo Region

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties and includes campuses or instructional sites in the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, and Rochester. Ivy Tech serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. For more information, visit www.ivytech.edu.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s