Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region recognizes student achievement

Annual honors ceremony celebrates outstanding academics, leadership

KOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region recognized students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and leadership at its annual Honors Day ceremony Thursday, May 8, at the Kokomo Event & Conference Center.

Daniel Madson of Peru, who is receiving his Associate of Science degree in Agriculture, was named the 2013 recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for his academic excellence, his service to the college and community and his personal achievements both in and out of the classroom. The Chancellor’s Award is the highest honor in the Kokomo Region. Other nominees included Cassandra Breedlove of Flora, Whitney Dykes of Sharpsville, Tammy Foreman of Kokomo, Lindsey Hernandez of Logansport, Misty Howell of Greentown, Rebecca McVay of Logansport, Jennifer Parrish of Russiaville, Ryan Wolf of Kokomo and Sarah Woodruff of Kokomo.

Rebecca McVay of Logansport, who is receiving her Associate of Science degree in Professional Communication, was honored with the Dr. Pam Lewis Award for Academic Excellence. The award recognizes the student who has earned the highest cumulative grade-point average during his or her Ivy Tech education from among the students named as the outstanding graduate in each degree program.

The 2014 outstanding students by program are:

Program                                            Student                                               Hometown

Agriculture                                        Daniel Madson                                    Peru

Accounting                                         Christie Bakehorn                               Peru

Business Administration                    Adrienne Berkshire                             Logansport

Computer Information Systems        D. Douglas Dunlap                              Kokomo

Computer Information Technology   Gail P. Wright                                     Kokomo

Office Administration                        Anna Landseadel                                 Kokomo

Early Childhood Education                Whitney S. Dykes                                Sharpsville

Education                                           Amanda Green                                    Flora

Visual Communications                     Tammy Foreman                                Kokomo

Dental Assisting                                 Ashleigh Bucher                                  Tipton

Health Care Support                          Jennifer R. Parrish                              Russiaville

Medical Assisting                              Lindsey Hernandez                              Logansport

Paramedic Science                            Judith Lear                                          Monticello

Surgical Technology                          Lavell Brown                                       Kokomo

General Studies                                 James Cary                                          Kokomo

Liberal Arts                                        Misty D. Howell                                  Greentown

Professional Communication            Rebecca McVay                                  Logansport

Nursing                                              Cassandra Breedlove                          Flora

Criminal Justice                                 Edward D. Name                                 Kokomo

Human Services                                 Ryan Wolf                                           Kokomo

Paralegal Studies                               Sheryl E. Smith                                    Kokomo

Public Safety                                      Kaleb Whitcomb                                 Michigantown

Automotive Technology                    Mike Hedrick                                      Marion

Heating/Ventilation/Air                    James Kuss                                          Kokomo

Design Technology                            Ryan Hurlburt                                     Winamac

Industrial Technology                        Omar Daniels                                      Kokomo

Members of Phi Theta Kappa, the international academic honor society with two chapters in Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region, who have been recognized for achievement at the regional and international levels this year included Ed Kaszuba of Elwood; Sarah Schutt, Tyler Yeakley and Jenna Yeakley of Galveston; Frost Clements of Kewanna; Diane Moore and Ashley Wente of Kokomo; Mariana Freitas, Kelly Hoff, Adrienne Berkshire and Christina Graham of Logansport; Lisa Hopper of Peru; Christina Pifer of Royal Center; Jennifer Hunter of Tipton; and Rebecca Tocco of Walton.

Tyler Yeakley also was honored as one of 12 recipients statewide of the Indiana Career & Technical Education Award for Excellence.

Students honored for their completion of Ivy Tech’s Student Leadership Academy were Angel Townsend of Camden; Bradley Cox of Frankfort; Shelly Brown of Greentown; Marilyn Guyer, Anna Landseadel and Jessica Manchester of Kokomo; Tamara Dibble and Rebecca Harris of Logansport; Daniel Madson, Mariana Ramer and Gabryelle Zoubul of Peru; and Tabitha Bittner and Tammy Erikson of Wabash.

Students honored as finalists in the Speak Up-Speak Out speech competition were Heather Conger and Amber Zehringer of Kokomo, Rebecca Harris of Logansport, Krysten Moon of Peru and Christina Pifer of Royal Center and Heather Conger also was honored as winner of the “This I Believe” essay competition.


About Ivy Tech Kokomo Service Area

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Service Area serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, Pulaski and Tipton counties, including the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, Rochester, Tipton and Winamac. Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering associate degree and short-term certificate programs, and trainings that align to the needs of the community. The College also offers courses and associate degree programs that seamlessly transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor’s degree. For more information, visit www.ivytech.edu.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s