Thirteen Ivy Tech Kokomo Region students complete 2013 Student Leadership Academy

KOKOMO, Ind. — Thirteen students from Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region were among those honored Dec. 16 at the statewide celebration of completion of the College’s 2013 Student Leadership Academy.

Students from Kokomo, Logansport, Peru and Wabash are among the Ivy Tech students who completed the academy this year. Each year, 15 students from each of Ivy Tech’s 13 regions are selected for the 10-week leadership development program specifically designed for students in the College.  SLA provides the opportunity for students to advance their leadership development and professional development skills while learning more about the history and traditions of Ivy Tech and networking with students throughout their region.

SLA graduates are honored at the statewide graduation ceremony, earn a specially designed medallion to wear during commencement and receive a scholarship for a three-credit-hour course in spring semester.  Advisors of the Kokomo Region SLA program are Dani McQuaide, director of Student Life, Development, and Leadership for the Kokomo Region; Mike Culver, associate director of Student Success and Development at the Wabash Instructional Site; and Elizabeth Murray, professor of English.

2013 graduates of the SLA program in Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region include:

Tabitha Bittner, Wabash

Shelly Brown, Kokomo

Bradley Cox, Kokomo

Tamara Dibble, Logansport

Tammy Erickson, Wabash

Marilyn Guyer, Kokomo

Rebecca Harris, Logansport

Anna Landseadel, Kokomo

Daniel Madson, Kokomo

Jessica Manchester, Kokomo

Mariana Ramer, Peru

Angel Townsend, Logansport

Gabryelle Zoubul, Peru


About Ivy Tech Kokomo Region

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties and includes campuses or instructional sites in the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, and Rochester. Ivy Tech serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. For more information, visit
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s