Ivy Tech Kokomo Region’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter earns regional awards

Members of Ivy Tech Kokomo Region's Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Alpha Phi Pi, pose after earning several awards at the honor society's recent regional conference.

KOKOMO, Ind. — The Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Alpha Phi Pi, and its members earned several awards at the honor society’s annual Indiana Region Convention held March 4–6 in Jasper:

Advisor Awards
Alayne Cook | Distinguished Advisor
Ethan Heicher | Distinguished Paragon Advisor Award and Horizon Award

Member/Alumni Awards
Darla Waite | Most Outstanding Chapter Officer
Tabitha Jones | Most Outstanding Chapter Member
Jessica Roberts | Outstanding Alumni Member

Chapter Awards
Alpha Phi Pi | Distinguished Honors in Action
Alpha Phi Pi | Most Outstanding Officer Team
Alpha Phi Pi | Outstanding Chapter
Alpha Phi Pi | 5 Star Chapter Development Plan
Alpha Phi Pi | Indiana Participation

Officers for the Alpha Phi Pi chapter who were honored with the Most Outstanding Officer Team Award include Darla Waite, president; Vicky Pierce, vice president of scholarship; Jennifer Hunter, vice president of service; Andrea Sexton, vice president of fellowship; Nancy Kowalczuk, vice president of leadership; Christopher Groves, public relations officer; Ian Buchanan, secretary; and Douglas Vanata, treasurer. The chapter includes students from the Kokomo, Peru and Wabash campuses and recently inducted 186 new members at a February induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually. Phi Theta Kappa’s Indiana Region has 25 chapters across the state.


About Ivy Tech Kokomo Region

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties and includes campuses or instructional sites in the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, and Rochester. Ivy Tech serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. For more information, visit www.ivytech.edu.
This entry was posted in Press releases and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s